Copa America Centenario 2016 Team Guide

By: Andrew Cho, Dominic Elzner, Leonard Giarrano, Megan Gutter, Kevin He, Arjun Jain

The following pages are an overview of the teams competing in the Copa America Centenario 2016, how they got to this position, and what to look out for from each of them based on past and current standings. 

The history of the Copa América can be found on this page, written by Leonard Giarrano, along with background on CONMEBOL and CONCACAF, goal highlights, and tournament records.

Although the Copa America is typically a tournament for only South American countries plus a couple of invited guests, the Copa America Centenario will celebrate it’s 100th anniversary by expanding the tournament to include more nations outside of South America. Read here to discover how all the teams qualified or here if you’re interested in how the teams were sorted into their groups and what kind of results could come from the group stage, like the much anticipated Argentina vs. Chile match.  


Group A

imagesUnited States  Flag_of_Paraguay Paraguay

State_Flag_of_Costa_RicaCosta Rica        colargeColombia

Group B

 Brazil               Ecuador

 Haiti                Peru

Group C

 Mexico           Jamaica

 Uruguay         Venezuela

Group D

 Argentina      Chile

 Panama         Bolivia