Home » Get to Know your Colleagues » Get to Know Jocelyn Castro! [October 2023]

Get to Know Jocelyn Castro! [October 2023]

Title: Staff Assistant

 Library/Department: University Librarian

 Location: Library Administration Office, RL Suite 254

 Years at Duke: 2 years in January 2024

 In a nutshell, what do you do at Duke University Libraries?

In a nutshell, I provide support to the Libraries’ Executive Group and help colleagues throughout DUL with administrative/logistics issues. As the Libraries Event Management System (EMS) administrator, I also serve as a liaison to the greater Duke Community using certain spaces/hosting events in the library. 

 If you had to pick one thing, what’s the best part of your job so far?

The best part of my job is the way I’ve been able to learn from my colleagues. Before starting this job, I was a paralegal so, many of the programs that I work with were new to me. My colleagues have been so kind and generous with their time and skills, and I have learned a lot from many of them.

I also love that I get to engage with the myriad departments and goings on in the Libraries and at Duke University. For example, I have attended lectures on climate change solutions hosted by the Nicholas School, volunteered at Duke Campus Farm, attended Women’s and Men’s soccer games, and I’m currently attending PRIDE Foundational Seminars at Duke’s Center For Sexual and Gender Diversity. And so much more! There are always opportunities to learn and do something new and it’s so much fun.

 What is the best thing you’ve read/watched/listened to recently?

Loki! It’s a TV series based on Marvel Comics about the heroes and anti-heroes of the Sacred Timeline, a multiverse and the Time Variance Authority (TVA). (Disclaimer: I don’t read comic books.)

 What do you like most about living in The Triangle?

I like that there are so many vegan restaurants to explore. I like eating and not cooking, so this works out nicely. So far, my favorite restaurant remains Pure Soul in Durham, but Element in downtown Raleigh is a close second.  

 What do you like to do outside of work?

I like spending time with my family, Luis (husband) and Emily (daughter; 3.5 years old). We enjoy outdoor activities like hiking, biking, and swimming, and indoor activities, like watching movies. I also like exploring libraries with Emily, and resting.