2016-2017 Chapter Achievements
Awarded $2,775.00 from GPSC and GSA

Member Achievements
Journal Articles
Lin, Kevin H., Peter S. Winter, Abigail Xie, Cullen Roth, Colin A. Martz, Elizabeth M. Stein, Grace R. Anderson, Jennifer P. Tingley, and Kris C. Wood. “Targeting MCL-1/BCL-XL Forestalls the Acquisition of Resistance to ABT-199 in Acute Myeloid Leukemia.” Scientific reports 6 (2016).

L. Linden, K. Gordon, A. Pani, S. Payne, A. Garde, D. Burkholder, Q. Chi, B. Goldstein, and D. Sherwood (2017). Identification of regulators of germ stem cell enwrapment by its niche in C. elegans. Developmental Biology. In press.

Renshaw, H., Vargas-Muniz, JM, Richards, AD, Asfaw, YG, Juvvadi, PR, and Steinbach, WJ. 2016. Distinct Roles of Myosins in Aspergillus fumigatus Hyphal Growth and Pathogenesis. Infect Immun 84, 1556-1564.

Vargas-Muniz JM, Renshaw H, Richards AD, Waitt, G, Soderblom EJ, Moseley MA, Asfaw, Y, Juvvadi PR, Steinbach WJ. 2016. Dephosphorylation of the Core Septin, AspB, in a Protein Phosphatase 2A-Dependent Manner Impacts its Localization and Function in the Fungal Pathogen Aspergillus fumigatus. Frontiers in Microbiology. Front Microbol 7

Vargas-Muniz JM, Juvvadi PR, Steinbach WJ. 2016. Forging the Ring: From Fungal Septins’ Divergent Roles in Morphology, Septation and Virulence to Factors Contributing to Their Assembly into Higher Order Structures. Microbiology, 162, 1527-1534.

Vargas-Muniz JM, Renshaw H, Waitt, G, Soderblom EJ, Moseley MA, Palmer JM, Juvvadi PR, Keller NP, Steinbach WJ. 2017. Caspofungin Exposure Alters the Core Septin AspB Interactiome of Aspergillus fumigatus. Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications. In Press.

Pass Qualifying Exams
Cullen Roth
Sara Payne
Allan Castillo

2017 NSF Fellows:
Raymond L. Allen
Abraham Nguyen

Tri-Institutional Molecular Mycology and Pathogenesis Training Program:
José Vargas-Muñiz

Honorable Mentions
2017 NSF Honorable Mentions:
Sara Payne

José Vargas-Muñiz, PhD (Postdoc in Amy Gladfelter Lab at University of North Carolina).

Duke University, Nicholas School Student Forever Duke Student Leadership Award:
Diego Calderon-Arrieta
Duke University Jo Rae Wright Student Advocacy Award
Diego Calderon-Arrieta