Home » Meetings » First Annual Meeting: September 14-15, 2017, Simons Foundation, New York City

First Annual Meeting: September 14-15, 2017, Simons Foundation, New York City

Arrival date: Wednesday, September 13. Departure date : Friday afternoon, September 15, or Saturday, September 16. This conference will run from Thursday morning through Friday lunch.

Spaces with special holonomy are of intrinsic interest in both mathematics and mathematical physics; they appear in many contexts in Riemannian geometry, particularly Ricci-flat and Einstein geometry, minimal submanifold theory and the theory of calibrations, and gauge theory. The exceptional cases, which occur in dimensions 7 and 8, remain the most challenging and the least understood. Nevertheless, they share important features with the better-known case of SU(n) holonomy, where the three types of structures are known as Calabi-Yau spaces, Hermitian Yang–Mills connections, and special Lagrangian and complex submanifolds. The exceptional holonomy spaces play key roles in the study of fundamental physical theories such as M-theory and F-theory (generalizing the role that Calabi-Yau 3-folds play in string theory), and progress in these theories depends crucially on a better understanding of spaces (especially singular ones) with exceptional holonomy.

The Simons Collaboration on Special Holonomy in Geometry, Analysis, and Physics will hold its first Annual Meeting at the Simons Foundation on September 14 & 15, 2017. Four of its principal investigators and four of its postdoctoral fellows will present reports on the most recent developments in various aspects of the field of special holonomy, including the study of adiabatic limits, moduli problems, collapse, gluing constructions using methods from algebraic geometry, and connections with physics. They will discuss their research progress during the first year of the collaboration and the current directions of research

The speakers are:

  • Andreas Braun (Oxford)
  • Sir Simon Donaldson (Imperial College and SCGP)
  • Andriy Haydys (Freiberg)
  • Mark Haskins (Bath)
  • Dominic Joyce (Oxford)
  • Eirik Svanes (King’s College London)
  • David R. Morrison (UC Santa Barbara)
  • Yuguang Zhang (Imperial College London)