Home » Duke-Wide Activities » Teaching Opportunities in Science Education Programs

Teaching Opportunities in Science Education Programs

BOOST: Building Opportunities and Overtures in Science and Technology
Opportunities for Duke medical students, graduate students, science professional students and postdoctoral fellows to serve as mentors and teaching assistants in the sciences for local 5th-12thth graders.
Contact: Brenda Armstrong brenda.armstrong@duke.edu or David Stein david.stein@duke.edu

Duke Chemistry Outreach
Opportunities for chemistry department members (undergraduate, graduate and staff) to provide chemical experiments and demonstrations to the larger Duke-Durham learning community including the public schools.
Contact: Kenneth Lyle kenneth.lyle@duke.edu

Duke Physics Outreach
Opportunities for undergraduate/graduate students to teach in Forest View Elementary School under the direction of Dr. Ronen Plesser.
Contact: Ronen Plesser plesser@math.duke.edu

InnoWorks
Opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from universities across the U.S. are available to teach in summer science and engineering programs for youth.
Contact: Xiaoxi Feng xiaoxi.feng@duke.edu

MUSIC: Math Understanding through Science Integrated with Curriculum
Opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students in engineering to partner with public school teachers to create and deliver hands-on lessons and learning activities integrating science and engineering into the curriculum.
Contact: Paul Klenk pak@duke.edu or Gary Ybarra gary@duke.edu

RoboCup
Opportunities for undergraduate students to mentor middle school students to design, build and program robots that will be entered into national competitions against other teams of youth.
Contact: Jeffrey Forbes forbes@cs.duke.edu

Techtronics
Opportunities for graduate/undergraduate students in engineering to serve as teaching fellows for a middle school youth enrolled in an after-school science enrichment program.
Contact: Paul Klenk pak@duke.edu or Gary Ybarra gary@duke.edu

TIP: Talent Identification Program
Summer opportunities for undergraduates from across the US to work with academically gifted 7th-10th grade students to study science (and other subjects) in-depth in unique TIP courses at Duke University, the Duke University Marine Lab, and other select colleges and universities around the country.
Contact: (919) 668-9100