Neural

One of the long-standing dogmas in neuroscience was that a mature mammalian nervous system is unable to generate and incorporate new neurons after birth. The relatively recent discovery of postnatal and adult neural stem cells in the rodent and human brains upended this notion. Not only do these adult neural stem cells generate new neurons, astrocytes, and oligodendrocytes, their neuronal progeny continually integrate into functional circuits in the brain.

Laboratories in the Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Program are actively working on the molecular pathways regulating these specialized stem cells in both health and disease. A better understanding of their function may lead to future therapies for patients suffering from brain injuries, as well as brain tumors.

Anne Buckley
Department of Pathology
Box 3712
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-681-8970
Email: anne.buckley@duke.edu
Website

Marc Caron, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3287
CARL Building – Room 487
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-5433
Email: marc.caron@duke.edu
Website

Cagla Eroglu, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-3605
Email: c.eroglu@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Nicholas Katsanis, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Duke Box 3709
466 A Nanaline Duke Bldg.
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919 613 4694
Email: katsanis@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Jeremy Kay, Ph.D.
Departments of Neurobiology and Ophthalmology
5004 AERI, Duke Eye Center
Box 3802, Durham NC 27710
Phone: 919-613-4769
Email: kay@neuro.duke.edu
Website

Chay Kuo, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
348 Nanaline Duke Bldg.
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-4612
Email: c.kuo@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Joanne Kurtzberg, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
Bone Marrow Transplant Program
Box 3350, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-668-1100
Email: kurtz001@mc.duke.edu
Website

Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
Phone: 919-668-7909
Email: Debra.silver@duke.edu
Website

Fan Wang, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Duke Box 3709
308 Nanaline Duke Bldg.
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-3682
Email: fan.wang@duke.edu
Website

Dong Yan Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
Email: dong.yan@dm.duke.edu
Website