Musculoskeletal

Researchers in this area focus on bioengineering, mechanical engineering, and material science engineering as it relates to regeneration, repair, and the musculoskeletal system.

Ben Alman, MD
Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery
Professor, Cell Biology, Pediatrics, Orthopaedic Surgery, and Pathology
Duke Hospital South, 200 Trent Drive, Orange Zone 5th floor
DUMC 2888, Durham, NC 27710
919-613-6935
Email: ben.alman@duke.edu
Website

Gurpreet Baht, Ph.D.
Orthopaedic Surgery, Duke Molecular Physiology Institute
Carmichael Building
300 North Duke Street Room 51 – 208F
Durham, NC  27701
919-681-2864
Email: gurpreet.baht@duke.edu
Website

Nenad Bursac, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
3000 Science Drive, Hudson Hall – Engineering, Room 136
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-5510
Email: nbursac@duke.edu
Website

Jun Chen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
203 Research Dr., Room 355B
MSRB, Durham, NC 27710
919-660-5374
Email: junchen@duke.edu
Website

Lou DeFrate, Ph.D.
Frank H. Bassett III, MD Associate Professor in Orthopaedics
Associate Professor in Orthpaedic Surgery
Associate Professor in Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
Assistant Professor in Biomedical Engineering
Room 379, Medical Sciences Research Building,
Box 3093 DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
919-681-9959
Email: lou.defrate@duke.edu
Website

Matthew J. Hilton, PhD
Associate Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery
Associate Professor in Cell Biology
450 Research Drive, LSRC B321c,
DUMC 91009, Durham, NC 27710
Email: matthew.hilton@duke.edu
Website

Kim Huffman, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Rheumatology & Immunology
Duke Molecular Physiology Institute
300 N Duke Street, 51-202, Durham, NC 27701
919-668-1644
Email: kim.huffman@duke.edu
Website

Courtney Karner, Ph.D
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Cell Biology
Duke University School of Medicine
450 Research Drive, Levine Sciences Research Center
Durham NC 27710
919-668-5664
Email: courtney.karner@duke.edu
Website

Virginia Byers Kraus, M.D., Ph.D
Professor, Departments of Medicine (Medicine, Rheumatology and Immunology),  Pathology, and Orthopaedic Surgery,
Duke University Medical Center, Carmichael Building
919 681 6652
Email: virginia.kraus@duke.edu
Website

David Kirsch M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Radiation Oncology
Duke University Medical Center
Box 3085 DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Laboratory Office 919-681-8586
Lab location: LSRC B233
Email: david.kirsch@duke.edu
Website

Amy McNulty PhD
Assistant Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery
Assistant Professor in Pathology
DUMC Box 3093,
Durham, NC 27710
919-684-6882
Email: alr@duke.edu
Website

Steve Olson, MD
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery
200 Trent Drive, Room 5332 Orange Zone Fifth Fl, Durham, NC 27710
Box 3389 Med Ctr, Durham, NC 27710
919-668-3000
Website

Ken Poss, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC, Durham, NC 27710
919-681-8457
Email: kenneth.poss@duke.edu
Website

Thorsten M. Seyler, MD
4709 Creekstone Drive, Durham, NC 27703
Box DUMC 2887, Durham, NC 27710
919-684-5441
Email: thorsten.seyler@duke.edu
Website

George A Truskey
R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
919-660-5389
Email: george.truskey@duke.edu
Website

James White
Assistant professor, Department of Hematology
Duke University Medical Center, Carmichael Building
919-681-6931
Email: james.white@duke.edu
Website