Imaging

One of the long-term goals of our research is to understand the behaviors of cells in regenerating tissues,  both individually and collectively as a population. For example, do stem cells make special contacts with neighboring cells and do they divide with different orientations under different conditions (asymmetric versus symmetric divisions)? How are blood vessels organized in relation to other cell types during regeneration? We also need to understand how stem cell progeny that become committed to differentiate remove themselves from the influence of the niche and move to new locations to achieve their normal function.

One way of studying these processes is to image tissue regeneration in vivo or in artificial environments designed to mimic the normal environment.  This strategy requires genetic tools to highlight cells of interest, imaging platforms to observe living cells over hours or days using high resolution, time-lapse confocal microscopy, and computational analysis to quantify and interpret cell behaviors.

Two well-equipped imaging facilities with full time directors are available for helping Program members achieve these goals and several members have their own confocal or spinning disc microscopes.

Phillip Benfey, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Box 90338, 130 Science Drive
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Email: philip.benfey@duke.edu
Website

Blanche Capel, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-6390
Email: b.capel@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Marc Caron, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3287
CARL Building – Room 487
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-5433
Email: marc.caron@duke.edu
Website

Brigid Hogan, Ph.D., FRS
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-8085
Email: brigid.hogan@duke.edu
Website

Chay Kuo, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 684-4612
Email: c.kuo@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Terry Lechler, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-4550
Email: t.lechler@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Ken Poss, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-681-8457
Email: kenneth.poss@duke.edu
Website

David Sherwood, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Box 90338, Science Drive
Duke University
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-613-9037
Email: david.sherwood@duke.edu
Website

Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
Phone: 919-668-7909
Email: Debra.silver@duke.edu
Website

Dorothy Sipkins, M.D, Ph.D.
Division of Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
Box 3961, DUMC
Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-613-5010
Email: dorothy.sipkins@dm.duke.edu
Website

Stefano Di Talia
Department of Cell Biology
368B Nanaline Duke Building, Box 3709
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
Telephone 919-684-8079
Email: stefano.ditalia@duke.edu
Website