Hematopoietic, Bone Marrow and Cord Blood

Hematopoietic stem cells give rise to all the cells of the blood and are the only type of stem cells successfully utilized in therapy for bone marrow and cord blood transplantation.

Duke is a major center for stem cell transplantation and investigators here pioneered the use of cord blood transplants for therapy. While transplantation therapy has been used to treat many diseases and saved many lives, this approach also has limitations, and transplants can fail due to insufficient stem cell numbers. Thus, many investigators are involved in understanding the signals that control the growth of blood stem cells and how cells in the microenvironment regulate hematopoietic stem cell function. This fundamental information will help identify novel strategies not only to increase stem cell numbers for transplantation, but also to enhance stem cell regeneration after injury.

Nelson Chao, MD
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Cell Therapy in the Department of Medicine
1146 N Pavilion
Durham,NC 27710
Phone: (919) 668-1011
E-mail: chao0002@mc.duke.edu
Website

Benny J. Chen, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Division of Cellular Therapy/BMT
Duke University Medical Center
247A Carl Building, Box 3289
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: (919) 681-3021
Fax: (919) 681-7060
E-mail: chen0032@mc.duke.edu
Website

Phuong Doan, MD,
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Member of Duke Cancer Institute
Box 3961, DUMC
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 613-2625
E-mail: phuong.doan@duke.edu
Website

Mitchell Horwitz, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Member of Duke Cancer Institute
Box 3961, DUMC
Durham,NC 27705
Phone: (919) 668-1045
E-mail: mitchell.horwitz@duke.edu
Website

Yubin Kang, MD
Associate professor of Medicine
Member of Duke Cancer Institute
Box 3961, DUMC
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: (919) 668-2331
E-mail: yubin.kang@duke.edu
Website

Joanne Kurtzberg, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Professor of Pathology
Department of Pediatrics
Bone Marrow Transplant Program
Box 3350, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-668-1100
E-mail: kurtz001@mc.duke.edu
Website

Dorothy Sipkins, M.D, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
Box 3961, DUMC
Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-613-5010
Email: Dorothy.sipkins@dm.duke.edu
Website

Robert Storms, Ph.D.
Assistant Research Professor
Department of Medicine
Division of Cellular Therapy
Box 3361, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-6804
E-mail: storms@duke.edu
Website

Eda Yildirim, PhD
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709 DUMC
Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: (919) 668-0460
E-mail: eda.yildirim@duke.edu
Website

James White
Assistant professor, Department of Hematology
Duke University Medical Center, Carmichael Building
919-681-6931
Email: james.white@duke.edu
Website