Hematopoietic, Bone Marrow and Cord Blood

Hematopoietic stem cells give rise to all the cells of the blood and are the only type of stem cells successfully utilized in therapy for bone marrow and cord blood transplantation.

Duke is a major center for stem cell transplantation and investigators here pioneered the use of cord blood transplants for therapy. While transplantation therapy has been used to treat many diseases and saved many lives, this approach also has limitations, and transplants can fail due to insufficient stem cell numbers. Thus, many investigators are involved in understanding the signals that control the growth of blood stem cells and how cells in the microenvironment regulate hematopoietic stem cell function. This fundamental information will help identify novel strategies not only to increase stem cell numbers for transplantation, but also to enhance stem cell regeneration after injury.

Nelson Chao, M.D.
Department of Medicine
E-mail: chao0002@mc.duke.edu
Website

Phuong Doan, M.D.
Department of Medicine
E-mail: phuong.doan@duke.edu
Website

Mitchell Horwitz, M.D.
Department of Medicine
E-mail: mitchell.horwitz@duke.edu
Website

Joanne Kurtzberg, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
E-mail: kurtz001@mc.duke.edu
Website

Dorothy Sipkins, M.D, Ph.D.
Department of Medicine
Email: Dorothy.sipkins@dm.duke.edu
Website

Eda Yildirim, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
E-mail: eda.yildirim@duke.edu
Website

James White, Ph.D.
Department of Hematology
Email: james.white@duke.edu
Website