Epithelial: Skin, Lung, Liver and Gastrointestinal Tract

Epithelial cells cover the surface of the body and line internal organs. In many cases, such as the gastrointestinal tract and the skin, these are highly proliferative tissues that turn over in days or weeks. Others, such as the lung, turn over slowly, yet quickly respond to environmental insults and injury to replenish themselves.

The remarkable proliferative capacity of epithelial tissues is due to the presence of resident stem cells. Members of the program are working to identify epithelial stem cells and their niches in diverse organs, and to understand how they are activated during wound healing and repair and how they may give rise to cancers. Organoid cultures are being used to screen for drugs and small molecules that regulate stem cell activity. Studies are also underway to decipher how the stem cells are first specified and established during embryonic development.

Michel Bagnat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Email: michel.bagnat@duke.edu
Website

Christina Barkauskas, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Email: Christina.barkauskas@duke.edu
Website

Anna Mae Diehl, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Email: annamae.diehl@duke.edu
Website

Don Fox, Ph.D. 
Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Email: don.fox@duke.edu
Website

Katherine Schuver Garman, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Email: katherine.garman@duke.edu
Website

Sarah Goetz, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Email: sarah.c.goetz@duke.edu
Website

Ronald Goldberg, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
Email: ronald.goldberg@duke.edu

Hans-Ewald Hohmeier, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Medicine
Email: hans.hohmeier@duke.edu
Website

Brigid Hogan, Ph.D., FRS
Department of Cell Biology
Email: brigid.hogan@duke.edu
Website

Dan Keihart, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Email: dkiehart@duke.edu
Website

Terry Lechler, Ph.D.
Department of Dermatology
Email: t.lechler@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Chuan-Yuan Li, Sc.D.
Department of Dermatology
Email: chuan.li@duke.edu
Website

Herbert Kim Lyerly, M.D.
Department of Surgery
Email: lyerl001@mc.duke.edu
Website

Amanda MacLeod, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
Email: amanda.macleod@duke.edu
Website

Bernard Mathey-Prevot, Ph.D.
Department of Pediatrics
Email: bernard.mathey-prevot@duke.edu
Website

Mark Onaitis, M.D.
Department of Surgery
Email: mark.onaitis@duke.edu
Website

Ken Poss, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Email: kenneth.poss@duke.edu
Website

Purushothamarao Tata, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Email: purushothamarao.tata@duke.edu
Website