Epithelial: Skin, Lung, Liver and Gastrointestinal Tract

Epithelial cells cover the surface of the body and line internal organs. In many cases, such as the gastrointestinal tract and the skin, these are highly proliferative tissues that turn over in days or weeks. Others, such as the lung, turn over slowly, yet quickly respond to environmental insults and injury to replenish themselves.

The remarkable proliferative capacity of epithelial tissues is due to the presence of resident stem cells. Members of the program are working to identify epithelial stem cells and their niches in diverse organs, and to understand how they are activated during wound healing and repair and how they may give rise to cancers. Organoid cultures are being used to screen for drugs and small molecules that regulate stem cell activity. Studies are also underway to decipher how the stem cells are first specified and established during embryonic development.

Michel Bagnat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology
333B Nanaline Duke Bldg., Box 3709
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-681-9268
Email: michel.bagnat@duke.edu
Website

Christina Barkauskas, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
Box 2629 DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919 681-9291
Email: Christina.barkauskas@duke.edu
Website

Anna Mae Diehl, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology
Box 3256, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-4173
Email: annamae.diehl@duke.edu
Website

Don Fox, Ph.D. 
Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Duke Box 3813
C318 LSRC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919 613-8756
Email: don.fox@duke.edu
Website

Katherine Schuver Garman, M.D.
Department of Medicine
Division of Gastroenterology
Phone: 919 684 1817
Email: katherine.garman@duke.edu
Website

Sarah Goetz, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Duke Box 3813
C303A LSRC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-3529
Email: sarah.c.goetz@duke.edu
Website

Ronald Goldberg, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Neonatology
Box 2739 Med Ctr
2424 Erwin Road
Suite 504
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: 919 668 1592
Email: ronald.goldberg@duke.edu

Hans-Ewald Hohmeier, M.D., Ph.D.
Department of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Duke Box 3813
C340 Lev Sci Res Ctr
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919 479 2342
Email: hans.hohmeier@duke.edu
Website

Brigid Hogan, Ph.D., FRS
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-8085
Email: brigid.hogan@duke.edu
Website

Dan Keihart, Ph.D.
Dean of Natural Sciences
Professor, Department of Biology and Department of Cell Biology
102 Allen Building
Duke University
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-613-8157
Email: dkiehart@duke.edu
Website

Terry Lechler, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-4550
Email: t.lechler@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Chuan-Yuan Li
Department of Dermatology
Box 3135 DUMC
C303A LSRC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919 613 8754
Email: chuan.li@duke.edu
Website

Herbert Kim Lyerly, M.D.
Department of Surgery
401 Medical Science Research Building
Box 2606, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-681-8350
Email: lyerl001@mc.duke.edu
Website

Amanda MacLeod, MD
Assistant Professor of Dermatology
Assistant Professor in the Department of Immunology
Department of Dermatology
Campus Box 3135
Duke University Medical Center
Durham NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-0310
Email: amanda.macleod@duke.edu
Website

Bernard Mathey-Prevot
Department of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
Duke Box 3813
LSRC C104A
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-8043
Email: bernard.mathey-prevot@duke.edu
Website

Mark Onaitis, M.D.
Department of Surgery
Division of Cardiovascular/Thoracic
Box 3305 Med Ctr
Dept. of Surgery
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-6974
Email: mark.onaitis@duke.edu
Website

Ken Poss, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919-681-8457
Email: kenneth.poss@duke.edu
Website

Purushothamarao Tata, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC,
Durham NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-0624
Email: purushothamarao.tata@duke.edu
Website