Bioengineering

One of the major challenges of stem cell research is “delivery”; how to introduce stem cells or their differentiated derivatives into damaged or defective organs so that they can perform their normal function and respond to physiological demands. Achieving normal function may involve the cells being organized into three-dimensional tissue structures like blood vessels or pieces of cartilage, or integrating closely with existing cells, for example when grafted into the heart or nervous system.

Tissue engineering seeks to address these problems by combining stem cells or their derivatives with artificial matrices or scaffolds that support the cells, mold them into specific shapes, and even cleverly mimic the microenvironment of the stem cell niche. A number of investigators both in the Medical Center and the Department of Biomedical Engineering are pursuing these goals problems in imaginative and innovative ways.

Phillip Benfey, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Box 90338, 130 Science Drive
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Email: philip.benfey@duke.edu
Website

Nenad Bursac, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Engineering
3000 Science Drive, Hudson Hall – Engineering, Room 136
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-660-5510
Email: nbursac@duke.edu
Website

Charles Gersbach, Ph.D.
Duke Box 90281
CIEMAS 2323
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-613-2147
Email: charles.gersbach@duke.edu
Website

Jennifer Moss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Endocrine Division and DMPI
Box 104775 DUMC
Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-479-2379
Email: jennifer.b.moss@dm.duke.edu
Website

Larry Moss, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Endocrine Division and DMPI
Box 104775 DUMC
Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-479-2310
Email: larry.moss@dm.duke.edu
Website

Xiling Shen, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Duke University
101 Science Dr., CIEMAS RM
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-681-9184
Email: xiling.shen@duke.edu
Website

George A Truskey
R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Phone: 919-660-5389
Email: george.truskey@duke.edu
Website

Shyni Varghese
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 919-660-5273
Email: shyni.varghese@duke.edu
Website

Jennifer L. West
Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering
Professor of Cell Biology
Associate Dean for Ph.D. Education
PO Box 90281
Durham, NC 27708
Email: jennifer.l.west@duke.edu
Website