2013 AOA North American Traveling Fellows Visit Duke

The 2013 AOA North American Traveling Fellows visited Duke Wednesday and Thursday October 23-24.  Their first day’s itinerary included accommodations at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, a golf outing with Orthopaedic faculty and residents, and a dinner hosted by the department’s faculty, fellows, and chief residents.  The following day began with faculty observations in the O.R. led by Drs. Mather, Taylor, and Zura.  The last afternoon of the traveling fellows’ visit was held in the amphitheater at Duke South where the fellows, Orthopaedic faculty and Chairman presented a number of topics including Treatment of Osteonecrosis of the Femoral Head by Free Vascularized Fibular Graft in 3500 patients (James R. Urbaniak, MD), Surviving the Transition from Volume to Value (Richard C. Mather, M.D.), and Assessing and Improving Physical Performance and Function Following Total Ankle Replacement (Robin M. Queen, PhD).  

The 2013 AOA North American Traveling Fellows are comprised of:2013 AOA Traveling Fellows

  • John Grant, MD – Saint John Regional Hospital
  • Carolyn Hettrich, MD, MPH – University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
  • Sanjeev Kakar, MD, MRCS –  Mayo Clinic  
  • Eric Strauss, MD – NYU Hospital For Joint Diseases
  • Daniel J. Stinner, MD – Vanderbilt Medical Center

William Mook, MD Awarded at 33rd Annual Oscar Miller Day Symposium

Mook, William R.-Lab Coat

William R. Mook, M.D.

On Friday, October 25, 2013, Dr. William Mook was named recipient of Basil M. Boyd, MD Memorial Resident Outstanding Paper Award at the 33rd Annual Oscar Miller Day Symposium.

 There were thirteen (13) resident abstract submissions…three (3) papers were chosen for presentation at the meeting.

 Of note, Adam Caputo was last year’s recipient and Matt Chapman won the Outstanding Paper Award for the N.C. Spine Society Meeting.

 Great work by our team!

AOA Day Awards

Please congratulate our ortho medical students, Jenna McNeill and Nicki Zelenski, who once again, swept the research awards at AOA day! Jenna won the award for best presentation, and Nicki won the award for best poster. Overall, the talks and posters from all the med students were outstanding, making the fact that our students won even more exceptional.


Farshid Guilak, Ph.D.

Laszlo Ormandy Professor and Vice Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery
Director of Orthopaedic Research
Departments of Orthopaedic Surgery, Biomedical Engineering,
and Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science