Steve Olson, Farsh Guilak, and collaborators receiving a 2015 Kappa Delta Award!

Submitted by Dr. Ben Alman 12/7/2014

Please join me in congratulating Steve Olson, Farsh Guilak, Virginia Kraus, Bridgette Furman, and Janet Huebner, for receiving a 2015 Kappa Delta Award​.  This is an incredible honor, as it is the highest award given for orthopaedic investigation.  They will receive the award at the 2015  Orthopaedic Research Society and American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery  meetings.

Their award winning manuscript is entitled “Early Inhibition of Proinflammatory Cytokines Prevents Post-Traumatic Arthritis: Insights from the Natural History of Arthritis Developing after Intra-Articular Fracture” and is the culmination of almost 15 years of collaboration between clinical and basic scientists in our department.  They uncovering a novel pathway mediating post traumatic osteoarthritis that can be therapeutically targeted.  As such, their work has the potential to be used to develop therapy to prevent the development of osteoarthritis after joint injury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *