Skip to content

Community Safety

What should we do to keep North Carolina communities safe?

Over the course of five months, NCLF will explore a critically important topic for the future of our state: What should we do to keep North Carolina communities safe?

NCLF brings together a distinguished bipartisan group of North Carolina leaders to discuss major issues facing our state, to understand different points of view about how to address those issues, and to discuss solutions that improve the lives of North Carolinians. Our goal is to facilitate substantive and meaningful dialogue among people positioned to help shape the future.

Participants from Cohort 8

Karen Alexander – Mayor, City of Salisbury

Daryl Atkinson – Co-Director, Forward Justice

Gene Blackmon – Director, Establishing Safe Cultures

Kristen Brabble – Chief Operating Officer, First Carolina Bank

Maggie Brewer – Chief Deputy Secretary – Rehabilitative and Correctional Services, NC Department of Adult Correction 

Brandy Bynum Dawson – Senior Director of Rural Prosperity and Investment, MDC

Tarrah Callahan – Executive Director, Conservatives for Criminal Justice Reform

Darren Campbell – Sheriff, Iredell County Sheriff’s Office

Becky Ceartas – Executive Director, North Carolinians Against Gun Violence (NCGV)

Warren Daniel – Senator, North Carolina General Assembly

Ted Davis – Representative, North Carolina General Assembly

James Dean – CEO, JD Financial Group and Associates, Inc

James Gore – Sr. Program Officer, The Just Trust

Jon Guze – Senior Fellow, Legal Studies, John Locke Foundation

Drew Heath – Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

David Levine – Vice President, Assistant General Counsel, Red Hat, Inc

Carolyn Logan – Representative, North Carolina General Assembly

Ya Liu – Representative, North Carolina General Assembly

Mary Martin – Chief Operating Officer, Duke University Hospital

David McFarling – President, North Carolina Rifle and Pistol Association

Frankie Roberts – Executive Director, Leading into New Communities Inc (LINC Inc)

Brian Scott – Executive Director, OurJourney

Matt Scott – District Attorney, Robeson County

Betsey Tilson – State Health Director/Chief Medical Officer, NC Department of Health and Human Services

William Vasquez – Attorney & Founder, Vasquez Law Firm, PLLC

Thomas Walker – Attorney, former United States Attorney, Alston & Bird

Zach Wallace – Vice President, Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce

Stephanie Watkins-Cruz – Director of Housing Policy, North Carolina Housing Coalition

Leonardo Williams – Mayor, City of Durham