Skip to content


What is the best way for North Carolina to conduct elections?

Over the course of five months, NCLF will explore a critically important topic for the future of our state: “What is the best way for North Carolina to conduct elections?”

NCLF brings together a distinguished bipartisan group of North Carolina leaders to discuss major issues facing our state, to understand different points of view about how to address those issues, and to discuss solutions that improve the lives of North Carolinians. Our goal is to facilitate substantive and meaningful dialogue among people positioned to help shape the future.

Participants from Cohort 7

Val Applewhite – Senator, NC General Assembly

Brian Biggs – Representative, NC General Assembly

Mary Wills Bode – Senator, NC General Assembly

Terry Brown – Representative, North Carolina General Assembly

Javiera Caballero – City Council Member, CIty of Durham

Damon Circosta – Former Chair, NC State Board of Elections

Chantalle Couba – Partner, Korn Ferry

John Cummings – Vice Chairman, Robeson County Commissioners

Lige Daughtridge – City Council Member, City of Rocky Mount

Tare Davis – Commissioner, NCACC

Tom Farr – Partner, Nelson Mullins

Kate Fellman – Founder and Executive Director, You Can Vote

Monica Gibbs – Activist/Consultant, Gibbs Consulting LLC

Lilyn Hester – Head of Southeast External Affairs and Government Relations, Google

Andy Jackson – Director, Civitas Center for Public Integrity John Locke Foundation

Jeff Loperfido – Interim Chief Counsel for Voting Rights, Southern Coalition for Social Justice

Edward Lopez – Professor of Economics and Distinguished Professor of Capitalism, Western Carolina University

Kevin McLaughlin – Vice President, Government Affairs and External Relations – Duke Energy

Juan Pleitez – Policy Advisor | Research Assistant to Rep. John Hardister, NC General Assembly

Nelson Powell – Senior Vice President, First Bank & Trust Company

Lindsey Prather – Representative, NC General Assembly

Patti Ramseur – President, NC Bar Association

Benton Sawrey – Senator,  NC General Assembly

Reggie Shuford – Executive,  Director NC Justice Center

Phil Strach – Attorney,  Nelson Mullins

Tim Tsujii – Director of Elections, Forsyth County Board of Elections

Craig Turner – Alamance County Commissioner,  Alamance County/The Vernon Law Firm

Joy Vermillion Heinsohn – Executive Director,  Z.Smith Reynolds Foundation

Kyle Villemain – Founder,  The Assembly

Jeff Zenger – Representative, NC General Assembly