Located in 101 Classroom Building on the East Campus of Duke University (FIND US), the MicroWorlds Lab is a physical, social and intellectual space to research and write historical stories through microanalytical methods and practices by: providing a community environment for undergraduate learning and exploration, as well as scholarly experimentation, in microhistory; training and supporting graduate students in their research and writing, and in mentoring and teaching undergraduates; engaging faculty and students together in classes, workshops, and ongoing collaborative projects; and fostering public knowledge about humanistic inquiry through partnerships, workshops, guest speakers, and conferences.

The MicroWorlds Lab is fully funded by Duke’s Humanities Unbounded through a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

LAB HOURS

Open to Lab-Affiliated Students & Faculty

24/7 via Duke Card access, except during scheduled class times and events.

Open to all Duke Community Members

By request. Contact Jamal Quick (jamal.quick@duke.edu) if you would like to request use of the space for an event.

Open to the Public

During all public events (see the calendar).  All events are free.

CONTACTS

The MicroWorlds Lab (microworlds-lab@duke.edu)
Thomas Robisheaux, Lead Convener (trobish@duke.edu)
Nicole Barnes, Co-Convener (nicole.barnes@duke.edu)
Jamal Quick, Program Coordinator (jamal.quick@duke.edu)
Avrati Bhatnagar, Teaching Assistant Fall 2019 (avrati.bhatnagar@duke.edu)

Affiliated Faculty

Adriane Lentz-Smith (adriane.lentz-smith@duke.edu)
Adam Mestyan (adam.mestyan@duke.edu)
Amy Laura Hall (alhall@div.duke.edu)
Karin Shapiro (kshapiro@duke.edu)
Katie Dubois (katharine.dubois@duke.edu)

Additional Resources

Arianne Hartsell-Gundy, Duke Libraries (arianne.hartsell.gundy@duke.edu)

BIOS

Tom Robisheaux, Professor of History, explores microhistory with his students in his “Microhistory Seminar” and two of his other courses, “Religious Reform and Violence” and “Magic, Religion and Science.”  His latest book, a microhistory called The Last Witch of Langenburg, explores the terrifying dynamics of a witch panic through the experience of one peasant woman.

Jamal Quick, Humanities Unbounded Program Coordinator, serves as the Staff Assistant/Coordinator for the lab. He earned his Bachelors degree in Business Administration, concentration in Management, and his Master’s degree in Business Administration.

Arianne Hartsell-Gundy, Librarian for Literature & Theater Studies, Research, and Instructional Services, in the Duke University Libraries.

Meet Our 2019-2020 Graduate Student Fellows

Meet Our Spring 2019 Undergraduate Student Fellows