2020 FSTA Recipients


2020 Social Science Retreat


2020 Assessment Retreat

We are cordially to invite you to attend 2020 FACULTY MINI-RETREAT in September via Zoom.


The Assessment Mini-Retreat Session will be facilitated by Ying Xiong, the Director of Assessment to help programs develop their learning outcomes and curriculum maps, not only to respond to the MOE and SACS accreditations, but also to serve as a foundation for further program development. This session will be repeated three times for three divisions, and each major coordinator only needs to attend one that corresponds to his/her major’s division (find major coordinators by Division on the next page of the attachment). If you can’t attend the relevant session, you should attend one of the others. The times are the same for all three Divisional sessions:

Faculty Undergraduate Student Collaborative Research

UG Office offers a Faculty and Undergraduate Student Collaborative Research Program

Please open links for more details

  1. Academic Year Research Projects
  2. Summer Research Program


Faculty Writing Support Group

The Faculty Writing Support Group is a group of volunteer faculty who can offer you help with your scholarly writing (writing for teaching purposes such as syllabi, assignments etc. will not be considered). For example, they can peer-review an article or grant proposal, check grammar for those writing in their second language, proof writing samples1, proof translations2, critique experimental designs or statistical analyses, etc. This service is facilitated by the Office of Faculty Affairs. While you are encouraged to seek help with your writing from your colleagues and friends, you should not request services from members of the Writing Support Group directly.

The Faculty Writing Support Group is experimental. The following procedures may be adjusted after assessment to better suit faculty needs.

The Challenges and Opportunities to Scholarship Posed by COVID-19

Topics will be covered:

Challenges: cannot do field work/ research productivity is reduced, but cost (e.g., staff cost) remains/ Cannot access research labs, etc.

Opportunities: good connections with DKU & other universities/ utilize the COVID-19 as a resource of data for new research/better use technology to support research collaborations, etc.

Panelist: Prof. Xin Li/ Prof. Jim Zhang/ Prof. James Miller
Tuesday (April 21st ) workshop at 09:00 – 10:00 AM China Time
*workshop recording is available by sending email to Fei.xu139@dukekunshan.edu.cn

2019 FSTA Recipients

Benjamin Anderson, assistant professor of global health
He has received an FSTA to support a project called Epidemiological Surveillance of Enteroviruses (EV) among a Pediatric Population at a Clinical Setting in Jakarta, Indonesia. Using nasal swabs combined with polymerase chain reaction, the research aims to identify risk factors associated with EV infections, as well as identify and characterize EVs using molecular detection and sequencing techniques. The project will be largely carried out by Sankalpa Bhattarai, a graduate student in the master of science in global health program, under Anderson’s supervision. Anderson joined Duke Kunshan in 2017 and has a Ph.D. in public health from the University of Florida.

Emily McWilliams, assistant professor of philosophy
She received an FSTA to cover the cost of traveling to the fifth Biannual Mentoring Workshop for Pre-Tenure Women in Philosophy, where she gave a presentation entitled “What is testimonial withdraw? Why does it matter?” The workshop was held in Boston, the United States, in late June. McWilliams joined Duke Kunshan in 2017 and has a Ph.D. in philosophy from Tulane University, Los Angeles.

David Huang, professor of medical physics
He has received an FSTA to cover the costs of traveling to the American Society for Radiation Oncology’s annual meeting in Chicago, U.S. At the meeting, to be held in September, he will present a poster entitled “A precise proton range telescope in proton therapy.” Huang joined Duke Kunshan in 2014 and has a Ph.D. in particle physics from Temple University.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén