Who We Are

The Duke Libraries Copyright Consultants work with members of the Duke community on issues relating to copyright as it applies to research, scholarship, and teaching.

The Duke Libraries Copyright Consultants stems from the idea that within the university, the library is a natural source for information and action on copyright issues. Libraries and archives collect and manage more copyrighted works than likely any other group of institutions in the world.  We often copy, distribute, and use those copyrighted works, and we are often called upon to help our faculty, students, and the broader community of researchers that we serve to understand how copyright applies to their uses.

Copyright Consultants are not lawyers and cannot give legal advice. They have, however, gone through extensive copyright training and they regularly handle copyright issues in their roles within Duke Libraries. Copyright Consultants can help you understand copyright basics; how copyright applies to research, scholarship and teaching; and when more help or expertise may be needed.

Have a copyright question? Find your Copyright Consultant below.

Duke University Libraries

Rachel Ariel
Librarian for Jewish Studies
919-660-5842
rachel.ariel@duke.edu

Winston Atkins
Preservation Officer
(919) 660-5843
winston.atkins@duke.edu

Nathaniel Brown
Lilly Library Media and Reserves Coordinator
(919) 660-5954
nathaniel.brown@duke.edu

Marta Conde
Catalog Librarian for French, Italian, and Digital Collections Resources
919-660-5901
marta.conde@duke.edu

Linda Daniel
Head, Social Sciences Section; Librarian for Sociology and Cultural Anthropology
(919) 660-5927
linda.daniel@duke.edu

Kaley Deal
SNCC Digital Gateway Project Coordinator
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
919-660-5820
kaley.deal@duke.edu

Elena Feinstein
Head, Natural Sciences and Engineering Section and Librarian for Biological Sciences
(919) 660-1578
elena.feinstein@duke.edu

Brooke Guthrie
Research Services Coordinator
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
(919) 660-5931
brooke.guthrie@duke.edu

Arianne Hartsell-Gundy
Head, Humanities Section and Librarian for Literature and Theater Studies
(919) 660-5881
arianne.hartsell.gundy@duke.edu

Ciara Healy
Librarian for Psychology & Neuroscience, Mathematics, and Physics
(919) 660-5829
ciara.healy@duke.edu

Jack Hill
Repository DevOps Systems Analyst
(919) 660-8487
jackhill@duke.edu

Ira King
Evening Reference Librarian and Supervisor, Lilly Library
(919) 660-9465
ira.king@duke.edu

Kelley Lawton
Head, East Campus Libraries and Subject Librarian for United States History
(919) 660-5990
kelley.lawton@duke.edu

Heidi Madden, Ph.D.
Librarian for Western European and Medieval Renaissance Studies
(919) 660-5984
heidi.madden@duke.edu

Lisa McCarty
Curator of the Archives of Documentary Arts
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
(919) 681-7963
lisa.mccarty@duke.edu

Deirdre McCullough
Collection Development Specialist
(919) 660-5917
dee.mccullough@duke.edu

Amy McDonald
Assistant University Archivist
(919) 681-7987
amy.mcdonald@duke.edu

Laura Micham
Merle Hoffman Director, Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture and Curator, Gender and Sexuality History Collections
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
(919) 660-5828
laura.m@duke.edu

Erin Nettifee
Coordinator, Access and Library Services
919-660-8458
erin.nettifee@duke.edu

Danette Pachtner
Librarian for Film, Video, & Digital Media and Women’s Studies
(919) 660-5886
danette.p@duke.edu

John Pormann
Head, Core Services, Duke University Libraries Information Technology Services
(919) 660-5865
jbp1@duke.edu

Edward Proctor
Librarian for South and Southeast Asia
(919) 660-5841
edward.proctor@duke.edu

Lee Sorensen
Librarian for Visual Studies and Dance
(919) 660-5994
lslilly@duke.edu

Cheryl Thomas
Librarian for Philosophy and French Canadian Literature
(919) 660-5814
cheryl.thomas@duke.edu

Kristina Troost, Ph.D.
Head of International Area Studies and Japanese Studies Librarian
(919) 660-5844
kristina.troost@duke.edu

Laura Williams
Music Librarian
(919) 684-2978
laura.williams@duke.edu

Brittany Wofford
Coordinator for The Edge and Librarian for Research & Instructional Services
(919) 660-5878
brittany.wofford@duke.edu

Luo Zhou
Chinese Studies Librarian
919) 660-5803
luo.zhou@duke.edu

Ernest (“Erik”) Zitser, Ph.D.
Librarian for Slavic, Eurasian, and Eastern European Studies
(919) 660-5847
ernest.zitser@duke.edu

 

 Duke Learning Innovation

Sophia Stone, Ed.D. 
Senior Academic Technology Consultant
(919) 660-5839
sophia.stone@duke.edu

 

The Ford Library at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business

Meg Trauner
Associate Dean for Library Services
(919) 660-7869
mtrauner@duke.edu

J. Michael Goodson Law Library

Shyama Agrawal
Acquisitions/Serials Librarian
(919)613-7070
agrawal@law.duke.edu

Kathleen Bothwell
Acquisitions/Serials Associate
(919) 613-7067
bothwell@law.duke.edu

Rachel Gordon
Head of Access & Collection Services and Senior Lecturing Fellow
(919) 613-7116
gordon@law.duke.edu

Casandra Laskowski
Reference Librarian
(919) 613-7120
casandra.laskowski@law.duke.edu

 

Medical Center Library & Archives

Elizabeth Berney
Access Services Manager
(919) 660-1136
elizabeth.berney@duke.edu

 

 

 


Duke University Libraries Office of Copyright and Scholarly CommunicationThe Duke Libraries Copyright Consultants program is sponsored by the Duke University Libraries Office of Copyright and Scholarly Communication. The basic idea for the program draws on the great work done by the creators of the Harvard Library Copyright First Responders program and the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries P2P Copyright Network.

 

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.