Skip to content

We’ll be announcing our full fall lineup soon! Check back to see the great events that we have scheduled for the next semester.

 

Evolutionary demography sheds light on the allelic spectrum of late-onset diseases

Thursday, October 21st at 1pm EDT/19:00 CEST

image of an old woman and an infantJoin us for a conversation with Samuel Pavard, Associate Professor at the National Museum of Natural History in Paris, France, and Christophe Coste, Researcher at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Geneticists have long considered alleles involved in post-menopause mortality to be neutral as no reproduction occurs anymore. Population genetics models have predicted that genetic drift rather than purifying selection was shaping the allelic spectrum of late-onset diseases, leading to a few common variants explaining most of the diseases’ prevalences. However, recent association studies show that most susceptibility alleles to late onset diseases have low frequencies: a characteristic of alleles under negative selection. We show that susceptibility alleles to late onset diseases are under purifying selection for most known age-at-onset distributions of late-onset genetic diseases. We conclude that neutrality is probably the exception among alleles that have a deleterious effect in old age and that accounting for sociocultural factors is required to understand the full extent of the force of selection shaping senescence in humans.

Attendees are encouraged to read Pavard and Coste 2021, “Evolutionary demographic models reveal the strength of purifying selection on susceptibility alleles to late-onset diseases.” Sign up here for the meeting link.

 

Club EvMed led by Paul Turner (Yale)

Thursday, November 4th at 1pm EDT/18:00 CET

This conversation will be led by Paul Turner, Rachel Carson Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Yale University. Full details to be announced soon, but you can register in advance here.

 

Club EvMed led by Sid Thakur (NC State)

Thursday, November 18th at 12pm EST/18:00 CET

This conversation will be led by Sid Thakur, Professor and Director of Global Health at the College of Veterinary Medicine at North Carolina State University. Full details to be announced soon, but you can register in advance here.

 

Club EvMed led by Aida Andres (University College London)

Tuesday, December 14th at 12pm EST/18:00 CET

This conversation will be led by Aida Andres, Associate Professor of Genetics, Evolution & Environment at University College London. Full details to be announced soon, but you can register in advance here.