Home » Recognition & Awards

Recognition & Awards

2002 |2003 |2004 |2005 |2006 |


Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D.

Named Interim Chairman (2002-2003), Department of Medicine,
Duke University Medical Center

Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D., R.D.

Awarded Susan G. Komen 2002 Professor of Survivorship

Beverly Fermor, M.D.

ASBMR-AIMM John Haddad Young Investigator Award

Mitchell Heflin, M.D.

Geriatric Academic Career Award. Bureau of Health Professions. (2002-2007)


Helen Hoenig, M.D.

Distinguished Guest Lecturer on Geriatric Rehabilitation, Department of Physical
Medicine and Rehabilitation, Harvard Medical School (April, 2003)

Invited participant to the Medicare Rights Center (a national advocacy organization for
Medicare rights) review of powered mobility devices.

Invited to author the monograph on Geriatric Rehabilitation for the Research and
Agenda Setting Process for the American Geriatrics Society, which is part of a major endeavor by the AGS to increase the awareness and involvement of specialist physicians in Geriatrics.

Margaret Pericak-Vance, Ph.D.

Named to the Institute of Medicine

Miriam Morey, Ph.D.

Invited to serve on Editorial Board, Journal of Aging and Physical Activity


Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D.

Recipient of the 2004 Donald P. Kent Award chosen by The Gerontology Society of
America (GSA). The award is given annually to a GSA member who best exemplifies the highest standards for professional leadership in gerontology through teaching, service and interpretation of gerontology to the larger society. Dr. Cohen received the award at the GSA’s annual meeting November 20.

Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D., R.D.

Excellence in Practice Award: American Dietetic Association – Nutrition in
Complementary Care Dietetic Practice Group (2004)

Institute of Medicine, National Research Council of the National Academics, Fulfilling
The Promise for Cancer Prevention and Early Detection. Washington, DC,
National, Academics Press (Reviewer)

American Association for Cancer Research, program Planning Committee Member 2003

American Cancer Society, Advisory Committee on Diet and Physical Activity for Cancer
Survivorship, 2003.

Deborah T. Gold, Ph.D.

Chair, Education Committee, and Member, Board of Trustees, National Osteoporosis

Chair, 6th International Symposium on Osteoporosis, Washington, D.C.

Chair, Behavioral and Social Sciences Section, Gerontological Society of America

Coordinating Author, Surgeon General’s Report on Osteoporosis and Bone Health


Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D.

Received the Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award from the American Geriatrics Society
(May, 2005)
This award is given annually to an AGS member who has provided leadership to train students in geriatrics and has contributed significantly to the progress of geriatrics education in health profession schools.


Elizabeth (Jody) Clipp, R.N., Ph.D., Professor

Named the Bessie Baker Professor of Nursing
Awarded the first-ever University Professorship in the School of Nursing (2006)

Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D.

Winner of the 2006 Marsha Goodwin-Beck Interdisciplinary Award for Excellence in
Clinical Care Leadership awarded by the Department of Veterans Affairs (2006)

Kenneth W. Lyles, M.D., Professor of Medicine and Director of the Geriatric Physician Fellowship Program at Duke University Medical Center

Elected chair of the Clinical Medicine Section of the Gerontological Society of America

Jama L. Purser, Ph.D. Assistant Research Professor

Awarded a five-year Mentored Research Scientist Career Development Award entitled,
“Candidate Genes and Longitudinal Disability Phenotypes” (2006)

Kenneth Schmader, M.D.

Awarded the American Geriatrics Society Presidential Poster Award (2006)
Entitled “Immunogenicity and Safety of Varicella-Zoster Virus Vaccine Administered to Older Adults.”