Primary Investigator

Dr. Hashim Al-Hashimi
Dr. Al-Hashimi’s Biography

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Hala Abou Assi
Ph.D. Chemistry (2017)
McGill University, Montreal, Canada
under Prof. Masad J. Damha
Dr. Allison Stelling
Ph.D. Physical/Analytical Chemistry (2008)
From Stony Brook University
under Prof. Peter Tonge

Graduate Students

Chia-Chieh Chu
Biochemistry 2014-present
B.S. National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Yu “Henry” Xu
Chemistry 2014-present
B.S. Shandong University, China
Nicole Orlovsky
Biochemistry 2014-present
B.S. University of Michigan
Honglue Shi
Chemistry 2015-present
B.S. Peking University, China
Bei Liu
Bei Liu
Biochemistry 2015-present
B.S. Wuhan Univeristy, China
Atul Rangadurai
Biochemistry 2015-present
B.S. Indian Inst. of Technology, India
Megan Kelly
MSTP 2014 – present & Biochemistry 2017 – present
B.A. Washington University in St. Louis
Stephanie Gu
Biochemistry 2018-present
B.S. California Institute of Technology
Akanksha Manghrani
Biochemistry 2018-present
B.S. & M.S. Indian Inst. of Technology, Bombay. India

Undergraduate Students

Jimshad Farooque-Wooden
Duke University – Class of 2019

Former Members

Former Post-docs

Dr. Mary Clay
Postdoctoral Fellow 2014-2018
Presently Senior Research Technologist at the Department of Structural Biology in St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

Dr. Yi Xue
Postdoctoral Fellow 2014-2016
Presently Assistant Professor at the School of Life Sciences at Tsinghua University, and Principal Investigator at the Tsinghua-Peking Joint Center for Life Sciences, China

Dr. Bharathwaj Sathyamoorthy
Postdoctoral Fellow 2013-2015
Presently Assistant Professor at Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal

Dr. Loïc Salmon
Postdoctoral Fellow 2011-2014
Presently Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Frederic Allain at ETH Zurich

Dr. Jeetender Chugh
Postdoctoral Fellow 2010-2013
Presently Assistant Professor at Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (Pune, India)

Dr. Katja Petzold
Postdoctoral Fellow 2010-2013
Presently Assistant Professor at Karolinska Institute, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (Solna, Sweden)

Former graduate students

Laura Ganser (Biochemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2019

Eric Szymanski (Biochemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2019
Presently Scientist, Nymirum, Inc

Dawn Merriman (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2018

Zachary Stein (Biophysics)
M.S. awarded in 2013
Presently enrolled in the Master in Data Science program at the George Washington University.

Huiqing (Jane) Zhou (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2016
Presently Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Chuan He at University of Chicago.

Anisha Shakya (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2016
Presently Research Fellow at Institute of Basic Science, Center for Soft and Living Matter, Ulsan, South Korea.

Issac Kimsey (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2016
Presently Vice President, Nymirum, Inc

Anthony Mustoe (Biophysics)
Ph.D. awarded 2014
Presently Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Kevin Weeks at UNC-Chapel Hill

Heidi Alvey (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2014

Janghyun Lee (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2014
Presently Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Byong Seok Choi at KAIST Korea

Shan Yang (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2014
Presently Technical Manager at Baxter International China

Joseph Yesselman (Biophysics)
Ph.D. awarded 2014
Presently NIH Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Rhiju Das at Stanford University

Scott Horowitz
Ph.D. awarded 2013
Presently Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Denver in Colorado.

Jameson Bothe (Chemical Biology)
Ph.D. awarded 2012
Presently Senior Scientist at Merck Research Laboratories

Catherine Eichhorn (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2012
Presently American Hear Association Post-Doctoral Fellow with Professor Juli Feigon at UCLA.

Liz Dethoff (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2011
Presently Staff Scientist at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Evgenia Nikolova (Chemical Biology)
Ph.D. awarded 2011
Presently an Assistant Research Scientist at Johns Hopkins University.

Anette Casiano (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2010
Faculty, Chemistry at Montgomery College

Maximillian Bailor (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2010
Presently Scientific Affairs Associate and Medical Writer at AXON communications

Andrew Stelzer (Chemical Biology)
Ph.D. awarded 2010
Presently President, Nymirum, Inc

Alexandar L. Hansen (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2009
Presently Principal Investigator and Research Scientist at the Ohio State University CCIC NMR Facility.

Xiaoyan Sun (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2008
Presently NMR Facility Manager at NC State University.

Catherine Musselman (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2007
Presently Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, University of Iowa.

Melissa Getz (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2007

Qi Zhang (Chemistry)
Ph.D. awarded 2007
Presently Associate Professor of Biochemistry at UNC-Chapel Hill

Rachel Throolin (Chemistry)
M.S. awarded 2004

Former undergraduate students

Charles Fisher
Presently Principal Scientist: Computational Biology

Jeremy Kratz
Presently Medical School University of Wisconsin

Tim Bai
Presently Medical School NYU

Cassie Yuan