LAB PERSONNEL

 

 

 

Susan Alberts (alberts@duke.edu)

Susan is the head of the lab.

RESEARCH INTERESTS

AlbertsCV_Aug2021

 

Laurence

Laurence Gesquiere (Laurence.gesquiere@duke.edu)

Laurence is a senior research scientist in the lab.  She manages the hormone research and runs the hormone lab.  Her research centers on projects in behavioral endocrinology and behavioral ecology largely focused on the wild baboon population of Amboseli.  Her ongoing research includes patterns of “cross-sex” hormones:  estrogen in male and testosterone in female baboons, and age-related changes in baboon physiology.

 

Jake (1)

Jake Gordon (jacob.gordon@duke.edu)

Jake is the lab’s data manager. He maintains our online database, and oversees entry of our behavioral data.  Jake also maintains the online records of our archives of baboon tissues, DNA, and RNA.

 

Christine Adjangba (christine.adjangba@duke.edu)

Christine is an Associate in Research in the lab.  They first joined the lab as an undergrad in Summer of 2018, and in Spring of 2021 completed their thesis on sex-biased investment and energy expenditure in female baboons.  They now assist in sample processing and analysis in the hormone lab.

 

 

Maria Creighton (maria.creighton@duke.edu)

Maria joined the lab as a PhD student in 2021.  She is interested in determining how animal’s social tendencies influence survival and fitness-related outcomes under different environmental contexts.  To answer this question, she leverages individual, group, and species level data on wild animals.

https://www.mariacreighton.com/

 

 

 

 

 

Liz Lange (liz.lange@duke.edu)

Liz joined the lab as a postdoc in Spring 2020.  Her research combines evolutionary studies, animal behavior, genetics, and theoretical modelling to understand when and how individuals use information from the social environment to alter phenotypes.

https://elange51.wixsite.com/lizlange

 

11062151_10153487263240774_6992409637526034733_o

 

 

Emily Levy (emily.j.levy@duke.edu)

Emily is a Ph.D. student in the lab.  She studies interactions between environment, physiology, behavior, and fitness.  She currently studies relationships between and organism’s environment – social and physical, early-life and adult – and its physiology and morphology.

emilyjlevy.weebly.com