The Von der Heyden Fellows Program Endowment Fund Lecture Series

On February 17, 2012, in home, by Marie Robertson

Established in 1994, the Von der Heyden Fellows program was founded to bring prominent international decision-makers in business, government, public life, academics, and law for a sustained engagement with the Duke community.  In particular, these fellows challenge Duke students and faculty to reach a better understanding of public life, which they can incorporate into their learning and teaching and their roles as citizens and societal leaders.

2012-2013 Von der Heyden Fellows

  • The Honorable Michéle Flournoy
    Former Undersecretary of Defense for Policy (February 2009-December 2011)
    Co-founder of the Center for a New American Security (CNAS)
  • The Honorable Ashton B. Carter
    Deputy Secretary of Defense (October 2011- present)

 2011-2012 Von der Heyden Fellows

  • The Honorable John Negroponte
    15th Deputy Secretary of State (February 2007 – January 2009)
    1st Director of National Intelligence (April 2005 – February 2007)
    Career Foreign Service Officer (1960 – 1997)
    Research Fellow at Yale University
  • Dr. Anne-Marie Slaughter
    Director of Policy Planning for U.S. State Department (January 2009 – February 2011)
    Bert G. Kerstetter ’66 University Professor of Politics and International Affairs at Princeton

2010 – 2011 Von der Heyden Fellows

  • Bob Woodward
    Career Investigative Journalist
    Associate Editor of the Washington Post
  • Dr. James Steinberg
    16th Deputy Secretary of State (January 2009 – July 2011)


Leave a Reply